My English Language Learning Journey

My journey of learning the English language is filled with a myriad of eventful trips of ups and downs. To start off, even though I was born and raised in an Asian country and into a Malay family, my exposure to the English Language has been coached into me ever since the beginning of my growth when I was starting to learn how to talk. With such an upbringing, I do not have much problem conversing in English as it was an effortless and comfortable situation for me.

Then, in Secondary school, an irrefutable source known as ‘struggle’ kicked in and hit me hard. It was overwhelming to be constantly thrown into a state of perplexity from the ongoing onslaught of English writing such as compositions, letter writings and comprehension that we had to practiced in class. I thought that I would be able to handle it but when tests or exams were returned back to me, my grades were amazingly atrocious. At this point, I was desperate to pull myself together and find a solution that could increase my chances of passing the English subject.

And I did; it was my sudden interest in reading English books. Reading was my saviour and hero – and it still is – as it does not only significantly improve my grammar, vocabulary and generic writing skills but it also widens my horizon on the English language. I was absolutely fascinated on the variety of usage of words and sentence structures that was written in the books that I have read.

Since advancing to a higher education level, I found that my writing skills may have plummeted yet again due to the lack of English-related modules in polytechnic but with another opportunity from this module and my never-ending passion for reading, I sincerely hope that my English language will recover and make satisfactory progress.

 

[Revised on 7 October 2016.]

[Commented on Weijun’s My English Language Learning Language]

[Commented on Edmund’s My English Language Learning Language]

[Commented on Zainab’s My English Language Learning Language]

6 thoughts on “My English Language Learning Journey

  1. Hi Fira,

    Good job for producing such a clear and concise reflection. It does have a good flow, however, it seems not complete as many events are not explained in details. For example, how was your grammar improved? Overall, it was quite well done.

    Weijun

    Like

  2. Hi Fira!
    Thank you for writing such a clear and concise summary of your English learning journey. It seems that most of us have had a difficult time during our secondary education.

    Mainly because English was not the first language we speak at home. I feel that you have a good range of vocabulary and little grammar mistakes, well organized post as well.

    It is a well written summary. You have certainly had an impactful journey where English language learning is concerned. Thanks for sharing those experiences with us.

    Cheers ,
    Edmund

    Like

  3. Hi Fira,

    You are clear, comprehensive in your writing. It was interesting to read about your English learning journey. Well, like you said, English always seem easier from the outside however, when it comes to tests and exams, I faced a similar situation as yours.

    Your language use is good and with what you wanted to share with the readers. I would advise that it will be better if you could avoid using many hyphens (-) in your writing.

    Overall, I had a great time reading your journey.

    Regards,
    Samuel

    Like

  4. Dear Fira,

    In my opinion, your descriptive reflection is short and sweet.

    I think there is an error in this sentence:

    “My journey of learning the English Language is filled with a myriad of eventful trips of ups and downs.”

    Instead, it should be:

    “My journey of learning the English language is filled with a myriad of eventful trips of ups and downs.”

    Sincerely,
    Nana

    Like

  5. Thank you, Fira, for detailed reflection. It is generally clear and quite comprehensive, providing us readers with a concise but telling picture of your journey. I was happy to see that ‘reading’ became your ‘savior.’ 🙂

    There are a few problems in language use, few of which were pointed out by your peers. here are areas you need to consider:

    1) With such an upbringing, speaking in English has always been an effortless and comfortable situation for me. >>> (dangling modifier)

    2) Then, in Secondary school, an irrefutable source known as ‘struggle’ kicks in and hit me hard. >>>
    Then, in secondary school, an irrefutable source known as ‘struggle’ kickED in and hit me hard.

    3) … that we had to practiced daily in class. >>> (wrong verb form)

    4) At this point, I was desperate to pull myself together and find a solution that **increases** my chances of passing the English subject. >>> (verb tense)

    5) – and it still does – >>> and it still is

    6) Since advancing to a higher education level, my writing skills may have plummeted yet again. >>> (dangling modifier)

    I appreciate your effort at ‘satisfactory progress.’

    Like

Leave a comment